North Georgia Claims PBC Women’s Cross Country Championship

North Georgia Claims PBC Women’s Cross Country Championship

Final Results

FORT BENNING, GA – On the fastest course the PBC has ever run, the University of North Georgia Nighthawks won their first-ever women's cross country championship on Saturday morning at Fort Benning.  Georgia College's Katherine Yost won the individual title.

After finishing in second place in each of the last three PBC Championships, the Nighthawks place all five of their scoring runners in the top 12 for 42 points, ten ahead of second-place Augusta University.  Georgia College was third with Flagler in fourth.

UNG's Brittany Truitt was the first Nighthawk across the line, finishing second overall with a time of 17:31.5.  Jenna Sanborn was seventh in 18:17 with Emma Brown 10th, Emily Sims 11th and Makayla Ellis 12th.  All five runners were named PBC All-Conference.

Katherine Yost became the first Georgia College runner to win the women's individual title.  The senior ran the fastest 5k in PBC Championship history with a time of 17:18.8.  That time is also the fastest 5k run in the PBC this season in any meet by more than 30 seconds.

Augusta's Lara Way was third in a time of 17:53.4 followed by Flagler's Lauren Penkala and Heloise Duffie de Tassigny.  The top 15 finishers were named All-Conference.

Augusta's Micah Weathers was named the PBC Freshman of the Year as the top-placing freshman in the race.  Weathers finished  in 18:10.4 and was sixth overall.

UNG's Tom Williams was named the PBC Coach of the Year in a vote of the league's head coaches taken after the race.  It is his first PBC coaching honor.

Most teams will move on to the NCAA Southeast Regional which will be held on Saturday, Nov. 3, in Wingate, N.C.

2017 Women's Cross Country

All-Conference Team


Katherine Yost, Georgia College

Brittany Truitt, North Georgia

Lara Way, Augusta

Lauren Penkala, Flagler

Heloise Duffie de Tassigny, Flagler

Micah Weathers, Augusta

Jenna Sanborn, North Georgia

Carla Catala, Clayton State

Mckenzie Knudsen, Augusta

Emma Brown, North Georgia

Emily Sims, North Georgia

Makayla Ellis, North Georgia

Alli Hay, Columbus State

Kenedi Rodney, North Georgia

Olivia Terwilliger, North Georgia

Freshman of the Year

Micah Weathers, Augusta

Coach of the Year

Tom Williams, North Georgia

Georgia College's Katherine Yost wins the 2017 PBC Championship on Saturday at Fort Benning