Peach Belt Reveals Women’s Tennis All-Conference Team

Armstrong State sophomore Lena Lutzeier
Armstrong State sophomore Lena Lutzeier


FLORENCE, SC – At a banquet on the eve of the tournament in Florence, S.C., the Peach Belt Conference released the 2016 women’s tennis All-Conference team.  Armstrong State University, the defending national champions, had a big night with Lena Lutzeier named the PBC Player of the Year and Sean McCaffrey the PBC Coach of the Year.  Francis Marion’s Marie Krueger was named the Freshman of the Year.

Lutzeier has steadily elevated her game throughout the course of the season and now is the guiding force as the fourth-ranked Pirates make a run at another national title.  A sophomore from Blaustein, Germany, she played the first half of the season at #2 singles before moving up to the #1 spot. With a 21-2 overall record, she is 9-1 at #1 singles with a 21-match winning streak, all in straight sets.  Ranked #9 in the nation, she has given up just 20 games in 24 sets of play this spring.  She and partner Diana Stomlega are the #3-ranked doubles duo in the nation.  Lutzeier is the third straight Pirate to be named the PBC Player of the Year and the 20th overall. 

Marie Krueger has made an immediate impact in her first season at Francis Marion.  A true freshman from Leverkusen, Germany, she went 15-7 in singles play this season, 9-5 at the #1 spot.  She had two wins against nationally-ranked opponents and four against regionally-ranked competition, earning a #17 regional ranking herself in the latest ITA poll.  Krueger partnered with Samantha Koelliker at #1 doubles to go 19-3 overall and a #7 regional ranking.  She becomes the third Patriot to be named the PBC Freshman of the Year, the first since Lena Specht in 2013.

In his second season at the helm of the Pirates, Sean McCaffrey has one national championship, one PBC Tournament title and two PBC regular-season championships.  The 2016 Pirates are poised for another run at the title; the team is ranked #4 in the nation, a ranking that does not include the Pirates five-match win streak against nationally-ranked opponents, including wins over #6 West Florida and #9 Hawaii Pacific.  Armstrong State is 23-1 overall on the season and extended their PBC winning streak to 13 years without a league loss.  McCaffrey earns his first PBC women’s Coach of the Year honor, he also was named the men’s Coach of the Yer this season.

The 2016 women’s tennis All-Conference team is listed below as selected by the league’s head coaches.  Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players.

2016 PBC Women’s Tennis
All-Conference Team

First Team

Alejandra Cisneros, Armstrong State
Nicole Fossa Huergo, Armstrong State
Beatriz Leon, Columbus State
Lena Lutzeier, Armstrong State
Camila Tobar, Columbus State
Nadine Tusiama, USC Aiken

Doubles Teams
Alejandra Cisneros and Carolina Prats-Millan, Armstrong State
Lena Lutzeier and Diana Stomlega, Armstrong State
Camila Tobar and Kirsa Utech, Columbus State

Second Team

Camille Clausse-Pujo, Georgia College
Lizanne Jinkertz, Flagler
Marie Krueger, Francis Marion
Carolina Prats-Millan, Armstrong State
Diana Stomlega, Armstrong State
Kathrin Waidner, North Georgia

Doubles Teams
Kelly Burge and Mary Jo Nanti, Flagler
Marie Krueger and Samantha Koelliker, Francis Marion
Beatriz Leon and Giorgia Vitale, Columbus State

Player of the Year
Lena Lutzeier, Armstrong State

Freshman of the Year
Marie Krueger, Francis Marion

Coach of the Year
Sean McCaffrey, Armstrong State

Player of the Year Lena Lutzeier Freshman of the Year Marie Krueger

First Team All-Conference Singles
First Team All-Conference Doubles Teams
Second Team All-Conference Singles
Second Team All-Conference Doubles Teams