PBC Releases Women's Soccer All-Academic Team

PBC Releases Women's Soccer All-Academic Team

AUGUSTA, GA -- The Peach Belt Conference released the women's soccer All-Academic team from the conference office in Augusta. The team is part of a season-long program recognizing the outstanding accomplishments of PBC student-athletes in the classroom as well as on the field. To be eligible for the All-Academic team, a student-athlete must 1) participate in at least half of his/her team’s events and be either a starter or significant contributor; 2) achieved a 3.30 cumulative grade point average (on a 4.0 scale) and 3) completed at least one full academic year at his or her current institution. The Peach Belt Conference Sports Information Directors oversee and select the teams.

Founded in 1991, the Peach Belt Conference is home to 29 NCAA Division II National Championships. 13 member institutions in North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Florida and Alabama compete in 13 championship sports. 2009-10 members are Augusta State University, Armstrong Atlantic State University, Clayton State University, Columbus State University, Flagler College, Francis Marion University, Georgia College & State University, Georgia Southwestern State University, Lander University, University of Montevallo, North Georgia College & State University, University of North Carolina at Pembroke and the University of South Carolina Aiken.

Click here to visit the All-Academic Team page.

2011 Women's Soccer All-Academic Team

Player School Year Hometown GPA Major
Kelli Bahr Armstrong Sr. Middleton, Wisc. 3.88 Early Childhood Education
Danielle Brennan North Georgia Sr. Loganville, Ga. 3.67 Exercise Science
Kayla Brown Columbus State Jr. Lawrenceville, Ga. 3.90 Communications
Ally Canganelli Georgia Southwestern Jr. Buford, Ga. 3.53 Nursing
Loren Cate Flagler Sr. Apopka, Fla. 3.75 Communications
Emily Cattanach Armstrong Jr. Fort Myers, Fla. 3.69 Rehabilitation Sciences
Andrea Collèn UNC Pembroke Jr. Umeå, Sweden 3.70 Sports Management
Andye Dawson Armstrong Soph. Senoia, Ga. 3.84 Rehabilitation Sciences
Emily Dodd USC Aiken Jr. North Augusta, S.C. 3.79 Nursing
Natalie Douglass North Georgia Sr. Lawrenceville, Ga. 3.53 Nursing
Emily Dover North Georgia Sr. Canton, Ga. 3.43 Early Childhood Education
Fanny Forsman UNC Pembroke Jr. Borås, Sweden 3.38 Business Management
Elke Groothuis UNC Pembroke Jr. Alkmaar, The Netherlands 3.71 Mass Communications
Taylor Kerr Montevallo Soph. Birmingham, Ala. 3.75 History
Rafaela Faria Flagler Sr. Florianopolis, Brazil 3.83 Business Administration
Taylor Lee North Georgia
Jr. McDonough, Ga. 3.85 Childhood Education
Catherine Lovin
Columbus State Jr. Griffin, Ga. 4.00 History
Stephanie Lowery Columbus State Sr. Sandy, Utah 3.30 Exercise Science
Mary Mancin Columbus State Jr. Gainesville, Ga. 3.36 Exercise Science
Kristina Pascutti Armstrong Jr. Lilburn, Ga. 3.78 Biology
Kaitlin Thomas Montevallo Soph. Calgary, Alberta 4.00 Chemistry
Tara Whitaker Flagler Soph. Fernandina Beach, Fla. 3.78 Sport Management

Honorable Mention: Asgergur Palsdottir, Montevallo; Alli Edens, USC Aiken; Kyle Maguire, USC Aiken; Kelsey Martin, North Georgia; Luisa Alvarez, Clayton State; Emily Davis, North Georgia; Frankie Berscak, UNC Pembroke; Britney Hill, Georgia Southwestern; Leanne South, North Georgia; Brittany Borror, Georgia College; Samantha Vickers, Lander; Alex Knight, Georgia College; Lauren MacDonald, Lander; Haley Powers, Flagler; Jennifer Dreasler, Clayton State; Jordan Ziegler, USC Aiken; Erin O'Rourke, Armstrong; Katie Finkle, Lander; Taylor Yee, Georgia College; Michaela Moertzsch, Montevallo; Paige Busby, USC Aiken; Krystal Taylor, Flagler; Anna Barrow, Georgia College; Kendall Couch, Lander; Jennifer Starvetsky, Georgia Southwestern; Gracie Preston, Georgia Southwestern, Jordan Otto, Armstrong; Jessica Jagielski, Flagler.