PBC Announces Women’s Basketball All-Conference Team

PBC Announces Women’s Basketball All-Conference Team

GREENWOOD, SC – The Peach Belt Conference announced the 2016-17 women's basketball All-Conference team at a banquet in Greenwood, S.C.; site of the PBC Tournament.  Lander's Breshay Johnson was named the league's Player of the Year while teammate Mylea McKenith was named a co-Defensive Player of the Year.  The other Defensive Player of the Year was Columbus State's Alexis Carter and her coach, Anita Howard, was named the Coach of the Year.  USC Aiken's Kwajelin Farrar was honored as the PBC Freshman of the Year.

Johnson is the PBC co-leader in scoring with 17.1 points per game and is tied for second in the league in rebounding with 9.8 per contest.  A junior forward from Hopkins, S.C., she leads the PBC and is ranked fifth in the nation in field goal percentage at .619.  A three-time PBC Player of the Week, she had 12 double-doubles and tied a PBC record with a 10-for-10 shooting performance against Augsuta on Feb. 18, only the second time in league history a player has made all 10 field goal attempts.  Johnson becomes the third Lander player to be named the PBC Player of the Year, the first since Shannon McKever in 2011.

Alexis Carter was a key part of Columbus State's run to the west division championship, a top-five national ranking and a 26-1 overall record.  A junior forward from Atlanta, Ga., she is tied for second in the PBC in rebounding with 9.8 per game.  CSU's leading scorer and 10th in the league in scoring, she also leads the conference with 87 blocked shots, already the eighth-highest single-season total in PBC history.  She is ranked third in the nation in blocked shots per game.  Carter is the second Cougar to be named the Defensive Player of the Year, joining Carrie Washington who won in 2015.

Mylea McKenith is the second straight Bearcat to claim Defensive Player of the Year honors, joining 2016 winner Bre Crum.  McKenith leads the PBC and is ranked ninth in the nation with 88 steals on the season.  A junior guard from Durham, N.C., she recorded at least one steal in every game this season, had 19 games of two or more including a streak of seven in a row heading into the PBC semifinals.  McKenith is also eighth in the league in scoring with 16.3 ppg and 10th in assists.

Kwajelin Farrar stepped to the forefront in her first year of collegiate play for the resurgent USC Aiken Pacers.  The freshman from Grovetown, Ga., averaged a double-double in league play with 15.1 points and 10.2 rebounds per game.  A PBC Player of the Week, she was fifth overall in the league in rebounding with 9.4 per game and third in field goal percentage.  Farrar set a USCA team record with 14 double-doubles this year, more than any other PBC player.  Farrar is the fourth Pacer to be named the PBC Freshman of the Year, the last was Emry Tsitouris in 2015.

Anita Howard hit the ground running in her first year as the head coach at Columbus State University, guiding the Cougars to the PBC west division title and a top-five national ranking.  The Cougars enter the PBC with a 26-1 overall record, a 17-game winning streak, and are the top-ranked team in the NCAA regional poll for a third straight week.  CSU leads the PBC in scoring defense and are second in scoring offense.  They also lead the conference in blocks, opponent field goal percentage, rebounding and rebounding margin.  Howard keeps the Coach of the Year honor in Columbus for a third straight season; Jonathan Norton was a co-Coach of the Year in 2016 and won outright in 2015.

The 2016-17 All-Conference team is listed below as selected by the league's head coaches.  Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players.

2017 PBC Women's Basketball
All-Conference Team

First Team
Ashley Asouzu, Columbus State
Alexis Carter, Columbus State
Kelsey Hutchins, North Georgia
Breshay Johnson, Lander
Ty'hesha Reynolds, Lander

Second Team
Andrea Benford, Clayton State
Kwajelin Farrar, USC Aiken
Shaunice Fulmore, Francis Marion
Alyah McGriff, Georgia College
Mylea McKenith, Lander

Third Team
Machala Raymonville, Armstrong State
Tierra Johnson, Clayton State
Jonissa Monley, UNC Pembroke
Breonna O'Conner, Augusta
Meredith Tarver, Young Harris

Player of the Year
Breshay Johnson, Lander

co-Defensive Players of the Year
Alexis Carter, Columbus State
Mylea McKenith, Lander

Freshman of the Year
Kwajelin Farrar, USC Aiken

Coach of the Year
Anita Howard, Columbus State