Augusta Wins PBC Men’s Cross Country Title

Augusta Wins PBC Men’s Cross Country Title

Final Results

FORT BENNING, GA – Placing all five scoring runners among the top eight finishers, the Augusta University Jaguars outpaced the field to capture the 2017 PBC Men's Cross Country Championship on Saturday at Fort Benning.  The Jaguars claim the title for the third time, all three coming within the last seven years.

In the individual standings, UNC Pembroke's Silus Kipkoech won the title in a time of 24:20.8, tied for the third-fastest 8k time in a PBC Championship and 31 seconds head of second-place Daniel Broadhead from Augusta. 

Dylan Forester finished in third place for the Jaguars while Hunter Kimball was fourth.  Jacob Poston was sixth with Noah Hulett in eighth.  The 23 points for Augusta is tied for the third-lowest in PBC history and the Jaguars are the first team with 23 points or fewer in the PBC since 2004.

UNC Pembroke was second in the team standings with 66 while Georgia College was third with 78, just edging out host Columbus State in fourth place with 80.

Kipkoech, who was also named the PBC Runner of the Year Friday night for his regular-season work, was also named the PBC Freshman of the Year for being the first freshman to cross the line.  He becomes the third freshman to ever win the PBC meet, the first since Clayton State's Walid Berkhedle in 2007.  UNCP's Matthew Martin finished fifth in 25:21 with Logan Ward seventh in 25:25.

The top 15 runners in the race were named PBC All-Conference.

Augusta's Adam Ward was named the men's Coach of the Year.  Ward claims his third men's Coach of the Year honor, he has also won three times for coaching the women's team.

2017 Men's Cross Country

All-Conference Team

Silus Kipkoech, UNC Pembroke

Daniel Broadhead, Augusta

Dylan Forester, Augusta

Hunter Kimball, Augusta

Matthew Martin, UNC Pembroke

Jacob Poston, Augusta

Logan Ward, UNC Pembroke

Noah Hulett, Augusta

Collin Silliman, Georgia College

Noah Hollis, Columbus State

Austin Kidd, Columbus State

Shawn Olmstead, Georgia College

Josh Thompson, Augusta

Brennan Silliman, Georgia College

Charles Asouzu, Columbus State

Freshman of the Year

Silus Kipkoech, UNC Pembroke

Coach of the Year

Adam Ward, Augusta

UNC Pembroke's Silus Kipkoech wins Saturday's PBC Championship