PBC Releases Men’s Basketball All-Conference Team

PBC Releases Men’s Basketball All-Conference Team

GREENWOOD, SC – The Peach Belt Conference has released the 2016-17 men's basketball All-Conference team at a banquet in Greenwood, S.C., site of the tournament semifinals and finals.  Augusta University's Keshun Sherrill was named the PBC Player of the Year and Clayton State's Alfonso Davis the Defensive Player of the Year.  Armstrong State's Corey Tillery was tabbed the Freshman of the Year and Chris Faulkner of North Georgia and Mark Vanderslice of USC Aiken the co-Herbert Greene Coaches of the Year.

Sherrill is currently 41 points away from becoming the PBC's all-time career leading scorer.  A senior guard from Cleveland, N.C., he is currently second in the conference and 14th in the nation in scoring with 22.6 points per game.  He also leads the league in and is 14th in Division II in free throw percentage.  He scored 42 points in a win at North Georgia, the most in a single game by any player in the league this season and tied for eighth on the PBC all-time list.  He had four games of 30 or more points, including 33 against USC Aiken in the season finale again leading the league.  Sherrill is the sixth Jaguar to be named the PBC Player of the Year, the first since Ben Madgen in 2010.

Alfonso Davis was a dominating force for Clayton State in the paint this season.  A senior from the Bronx, N.Y., he was third in the league in total rebounds and fifth in rebounds per game with 8.6 per contest.  He pulled down 21 boards against North Georgia on Feb. 6, the second-highest single-game total in the league this year and tied for 12th highest in league history.  He had eight double-doubles on the year, tied for third in the PBC, and was fourth in the league in blocks and seventh in steals.  Davis becomes the first PBC player in the eight-year history of the award to be named Defensive Player of the Year in back-to-back seasons.

Armstrong State's Corey Tillery had a massive freshman campaign, averaging 18.4 points per game, a number that jumped to 21.0 ppg against league opponents.  A PBC Player of the Week, the native of Atlanta, Ga., led the PBC with 97 made three-pointers and was eighth in three-point percentage.  Ranked in the top five in scoring, he was also fourth in free throw percentage.  He scored 34 at Lander and 36 against Augusta in back-to-back Pirate wins and topped 20 or more 10 times during the season.  Tillery is the first Pirate to ever be named the PBC Freshman of the Year.

Chris Faulkner's North Georgia team was picked to finish in a tie for 10th in the preseason coaches poll.  Instead, the Nighthawks were a co-West Division Champion with an 11-8 league record.   In his 14th season as the head coach at UNG, Faulkner led the team from a last-place finish in 2015-16 to a tie for first this year, more than doubling the number of wins overall and in the conference.  The PBC Herbert Greene Coach of the Year honor is his first.

In only his second season as the head coach at USC Aiken, Mark Vanderslice made a team picked to finish alongside North Georgia in a tie for 10th in the preseason poll into a division contender.  The Pacers went from six wins last year to an 18-9 record, 12-7 in the league and were just one game away from moving into a tie for division champion.  Vanderslice's Pacers were second in the PBC in rebounding, third in scoring and led the conference in three-pointers.

The PBC men's basketball Coach of the Year award was renamed the Herbert Greene Coach of the Year Award starting this season in honor of the former Columbus State coaching great.

The men's basketball All-Conference team is listed below, as selected by the league's head coaches. Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players.

2017 PBC Men's Basketball
All-Conference Team

First Team
Alfonso Davis, Clayton State
Javonte Douglas, Montevallo
Keshun Sherrill, Augusta
J.R. Washington, Lander
C.J. Wilson, Young Harris

Second Team
Detrek Browning, Francis Marion
Shaquan Cantrell, North Georgia
Nigel Grant, UNC Pembroke
Jacori Payne, Columbus State
Corey Tillery, Armstrong State

Third Team
Jalin Barnes, USC Aiken
Henry Bolton III, USC Aiken
Mark Matthews, USC Aiken
Jamaar Taylor, Montevallo
Brandon Watts, UNC Pembroke

Player of the Year
Keshun Sherrill, Augusta

Defensive Player of the Year
Alfonso Davis, Clayton State

Freshman of the Year
Corey Tillery, Armstrong State

co-Herbert Greene Coaches of the Year
Chris Faulkner, North Georgia
Mark Vanderslice, USC Aiken