Peach Belt Announces Men’s Basketball All-Conference Team

Peach Belt Announces Men’s Basketball All-Conference Team

AUGUSTA, GA – The Peach Belt Conference has announced the 2012 men’s basketball All-Conference team from the league office in Augusta, Ga.  Lander’s Dwight Tolbert was named the PBC Player of the Year while Montevallo’s Antoine Davis is the Defensive Player of the Year and Augusta State’s Devon Wright-Nelson the Freshman of the Year.  USC Aiken head coach Vince Alexander was named the Coach of the Year.  In all, 15 players were named to the All-Conference team as selected by the league’s head coaches.

Tolbert was the second-leading scorer in the Peach Belt Conference in 2011-12 with 22.1 points per game.  A three-time PBC Player of the Week, he led the Bearcats in scoring 16 times with 25 games in double figures including five double-doubles.  A senior from Tifton, Ga., Tolbert also leads the PBC in three-point field goal percentage and three-pointers made.  He led Lander in rebounding six times and averaged 6.8 rebounds per game, 11th in the Peach Belt.  He scored 20 or more points 18 times and hit for 30 or more six times including a season-high 34 against Young Harris on Jan. 23.  Tolbert helped the Bearcats to a PBC Tournament berth with wins in six of their last seven games in which he averaged 25.1 ppg.  He becomes only the second Lander player to ever be named the PBC Player of the Year, joining Marshall Dribble who won the honor in 1995-96.

Montevallo’s Antoine Davis missed a large portion of the season due to injury, but still managed to rank second in the PBC in steals per game while scoring 13.2 ppg.  Davis started in the last 12 conference games and averaged 4.9 assists per game in league play.  A tenacious defender, he led the Falcons in rebounding in several occasions despite being the shortest player on the floor, currently averaging 4.9 rebounds per game.  He becomes the first Falcon to be named the Defensive Player of the Year in the three-year history of the award.

Devon Wright-Nelson had a remarkable freshman year for Augusta State, averaging 14.1 points and 7.6 rebounds per game while starting in 21 contests for the Jaguars.  He started in 17 league games and upped his averages to 15.8 points and 7.8 rebounds per contest and was named a PBC Player of the Week.  From Washington, D.C., Wright-Nelson had three double-doubles on the year and scored 20 or more points three times, including a career-best 32 at Armstrong in a critical game in the season finale last Saturday.  He is seventh in the PBC in rebounding, fourth in free throw percentage and ranked among the top 15 in scoring, field goal percentage and total rebounds.  He continues a rich tradition of young talent at Augusta State, becoming the sixth Jaguar to be named the Freshman of the Year, the first since Ben Madgen won the award in 2006-07.

Vince Alexander captures his second PBC Coach of the Year honor after leading the Pacers to the PBC’s Regular-Season Championship and the top seed in the east division for the upcoming PBC Tournament.  In his seventh year at the helm of the Pacers, Alexander has his second regular-season title and will be looking for his second tournament championship in the last three years.  The 2011-12 Pacers are 20-6 overall, 14-4 in league play, and have won 20 or more in four of the last five years.  The Pacers lead the PBC in three-point shooting and steals per game and are among the top five in scoring, field goal percentage and assists.

The 2011-12 men’s basketball All-Conference team is listed below.  Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players.

2011-12 Peach Belt Men's Basketball
All-Conference Team

First Team
Ryan Aquino, Georgia College
Sterling Council, USC Aiken
D.J. Rivera, Montevallo
Liki Turner, Francis Marion
Dwight Tolbert, Lander

Second Team
Shahmel Brackett, UNC Pembroke
Steve Peterson, Columbus State
Anthony Salter, Clayton State
Teondre Williams, Clayton State
Devon Wright-Nelson, Augusta State

Third Team
Evan Mobley, Georgia Southwestern
Re'Mon Nelson, USC Aiken
Chris Vanlandingham, Armstrong
Scott Windom, North Georgia
Corey Wright, Lander

Player of the Year
Dwight Tolbert, Lander

Defensive Player of the Year
Antoine Davis, Montevallo

Freshman of the Year
Devon Wright-Nelson, Augusta State

Coach of the Year
Vince Alexander, USC Aiken