Columbus State’s Kolton Ingram Named to Golden Spikes Award Watch List

Columbus State’s Kolton Ingram Named to Golden Spikes Award Watch List

DURHAM, NC – Columbus State senior pitcher Kolton Ingram became the first Peach Belt Conference baseball player ever to be named to the Golden Spikes Award Preseason Watch list on Thursday.  Ingram is one of two NCAA Division II players on the 55-player list.

The Golden Spikes Award is presented by USA Baseball and given annually to the top amateur baseball player in America for the last 42 years.

A senior lefthander from Hampton, Ga., Ingram was named a first-team All-American by the ABCA and third team by D2CCA in 2018.  He went 14-3 last year with a 2.18 ERA in 19 starts.  He struck out 150 batters, the most in NCAA Division II and a new PBC single-season record and led the conference in wins, innings pitched and strikeouts.  Ingram was the opening-day pitcher last week for the Cougars, striking out seven in four innings with no decision.

The preseason watch list features 55 of the nation's top amateur players, from high school and college baseball. The Golden Spikes Award Advisory Board will maintain a rolling list of players, allowing athletes to play themselves into consideration for the award throughout the season.

Amateur baseball fans will be able to vote for their favorite players at again in 2019, starting on May 15 with the naming of the Golden Spikes Award semifinalists. The list of semifinalists will also be sent to a voting body consisting of baseball media members, select professional baseball personnel, current USA Baseball staff and 40 previous winners of the award, representing a group of more than 200 voters.

USA Baseball will announce the finalists on May 29 and fan voting will open at GoldenSpikesAward.comconcurrently and will remain open through June 10.

The winner of the 42nd Golden Spikes Award will be named on Friday, June 14.

USA Baseball has partnered with the Rod Dedeaux Foundation to host the Golden Spikes Award since 2013. The Foundation was formed to honor legendary USC and USA Baseball Olympic team coach, Rod Dedeaux, and supports youth baseball and softball programs in underserved communities throughout Southern California.

A complete list of the 55-player USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award watch list is as follows: 

Name, Position, Class, School, Conference

Kevin Abel, RHP, So., Oregon State, Pac-12 Conference

Patrick Bailey, C, So., NC State, Atlantic Coast Conference

J.J. Bleday, OF, Jr., Vanderbilt, Southeastern Conference

Cody Bradford, LHP, Jr., Baylor, Big 12 Conference

Kyle Brnovich, RHP, Jr., Elon, Colonial Athletic Association

Tanner Burns, RHP, So., Auburn, Southeastern Conference

Michael Busch, IF, Jr., North Carolina, Atlantic Coast Conference

Matt Canterino, RHP, Jr., Rice, Conference USA

Cameron Coursey, IF, So., Georgia Gwinnett, Association of Independent Institutions

Matt Cronin, LHP, Jr., Arkansas, Southeastern Conference

Wil Dalton, OF, Jr., Florida, Southeastern Conference

Logan Davidson, IF, Jr., Clemson, Atlantic Coast Conference

John Doxakis, LHP, Jr., Texas A&M, Southeastern Conference

Tyler Dyson, RHP, Jr., Florida, Southeastern Conference

Tristin English, RHP/IF, Jr., Georgia Tech, Atlantic Coast Conference

Mason Feole, LHP, Jr., Connecticut, American Athletic Conference

Zack Hess, RHP, Jr., LSU, Southeastern Conference

Will Holland, IF, Jr., Auburn, Southeastern Conference

Kolton Ingram, LHP, Sr., Columbus State, Peach Belt Conference

Josh Jung, IF, Jr., Texas Tech, Big 12 Conference

George Kirby, RHP, Jr., Elon, Colonial Athletic Association

Heston Kjerstad, OF, So., Arkansas, Southeastern Conference

Russell Lamovec, RHP, Sr., Mercyhurst, Great Midwest Athletic Conference

Shea Langeliers, C, Jr., Baylor, Big 12 Conference

Jack Little, RHP, Jr., Stanford, Pac-12 Conference

Nick Lodolo, LHP, Jr., TCU, Big 12 Conference

Jake Mangum, OF, Sr., Mississippi State, Southeastern Conference

Alek Manoah, RHP, Jr., West Virginia, Big 12 Conference

Casey Martin, IF, So., Arkansas, Southeastern Conference

Drew Mendoza, IF, Jr., Florida State, Atlantic Coast Conference

Max Meyer, RHP, So., Minnesota, Big 10 Conference

Kameron Misner, OF, Jr., Missouri, Southeastern Conference

Sean Mooney, RHP, Jr., St. John's, Big East Conference

Bryant Packard, OF, Jr., East Carolina, American Athletic Conference

Andre Pallante, RHP, Jr., UC Irvine, Big West Conference

Drew Parrish, LHP, Jr., Florida State, Atlantic Coast Conference

Nick Quintana, IF, Jr., Arizona, Pac-12 Conference

Adley Rutschman, C, Jr., Oregon State, Pac-12 Conference

Mitchell Senger, LHP, Jr., Stetson, ASUN Conference

Noah Song, RHP, Sr., Navy, Patriot League

Graeme Stinson, LHP, Jr., Duke, Atlantic Coast Conference

Bryson Stott, IF, Jr., UNLV, Mountain West Conference

Kyle Stowers, OF, Jr., Stanford, Pac-12 Conference

Kevin Strohschein, OF, Sr., Tennessee Tech, Ohio Valley Conference

Chase Strumpf, IF, Jr., UCLA, Pac-12 Conference

Zack Thompson, LHP, Jr., Kentucky, Southeastern Conference

Michael Toglia, IF, Jr., UCLA, Pac-12 Conference

Spencer Torkelson, IF, So., Arizona State, Pac-12 Conference

Dan Valerio, UT, Sr., Southeastern, The Sun Conference

Andrew Vaughn, IF, Jr., California, Pac-12 Conference

Matt Wallner, OF, Jr., Southern Miss, Conference USA

Will Wilson, IF, Jr., NC State, Atlantic Coast Conference

Bobby Witt Jr., SS/RHP, Sr., Colleyville High School, District 8-5A

Logan Wyatt, IF, Jr., Louisville, Atlantic Coast Conference

Kenyon Yovan, RHP, Jr., Oregon, Pac-12 Conference