Seventeen PBC Baseball Players Named to ABCA All-Region Team

Seventeen PBC Baseball Players Named to ABCA All-Region Team

AUGUSTA, GA – Seventeen Peach Belt baseball players have been named to the All-Southeast Region team as the American Baseball Coaches Association (ABCA) released their 2013 squad.  Seven of those players were named first-team All-Region and are now eligible for All-America consideration.  Columbus State's Cameron Scott was named the region Position Player of the Year.

The seventeen players is more than half of the total spots awarded.  Only six players on the second team are not playing in the Peach Belt Conference.  Fifteen PBC players have now been named All-Region by three different organizations as the Daktronics and NCBWA All-Region teams were released earlier.

Scott had one of the finest seasons in Columbus State and PBC history this year hitting .411 which leads the PBC and is 22nd in the nation. He also leads the nation with 79 RBIs and is third in the country with 88 hits. The senior added five homeruns. 

The switch hitter registered 21 doubles, the seventh most in the nation, and a .457 on-base percentage. He also had 24 games with two or more hits, including six with four or more.    

The Griffin native left his mark on the CSU single-season record book ranking fourth in RBIs, tied for eighth in doubles and tied for ninth in batting average.  

The ABCA All-America team will be released later this month.

2013 ABCA All-Southeast Region Team

First Team
1B: Chris Dula, Catawba
2B: Allen Staten, North Greenville
3B: Jordan Edgerton, UNC Pembroke
SS: Mike Mercurio, Mount Olive
INF: Cameron Scott, Columbus State
C: Geno Escalante, Mount Olive
OF: Patrick Grady, Lander
OF: Zach Bricknell, Young Harris
OF: Ryan Lewis, Columbus State

OF: Keaton Hawks, Catawba
P: Alex Regan, Mount Olive
P: Matt Dillon, Mount Olive
P: Nick Lomascolo, Catawba
P: Ethan Carter, UNC Pembroke
RP: Taylor Grover, USC Aiken

DH: Bradon Reitano, Mount Olive

Second Team
1B: Ty Barkell, USC Aiken
2B: Ryan Metzler, USC Aiken

3B: Ryan Crammer, Newberry
SS: Daniel Bick, Georgia College
INF: Drew Willingham, Erskine
C: Jeff May, Lander
OF: Jon Gray, Pfeiffer
OF: Bryce Baur, USC Aiken
OF: Adam Taylor, North Greenville
OF: J.D. Pullen, Columbus State
P: Derek Beasley, USC Aiken
P: Dylan Wolchik, Lander

P: Jonathan Rosenberger, Newberry
P: Dale Innes, UNC Pembroke
RP: Zach Loraine, Coker
DH: Bill Gertenslager, USC Aiken

Player of the Year: Cameron Scott, Columbus State
Pitcher of the Year: Matt Dillon, Mount Olive