Peach Belt Releases Men’s Tennis All-Conference Teams

Peach Belt Releases Men’s Tennis All-Conference Teams

FLORENCE, SC – The Peach Belt Conference released the 2013 men's tennis All-Conference team during a banquet on the eve of the league tournament which is being held in Florence, S.C.  Armstrong Atlantic State University's Georgi Rumenov was named the Player of the Year for the second straight season while his coach, Simon Earnshaw, was named the Coach of the Year.  Georgia College's Yannick Hass was named the Freshman of the Year.

Six doubles teams and 13 singles players were recognized as All-Conference.  The second team All-Conference singles was expanded to seven due to a tie in the voting.

A senior from Barcelona, Spain, Rumenov is the #1-ranked singles player in all of NCAA Division II.   He finished 16-1 in singles play this year, going 11-1 at #1 singles and 5-0 at #2.  Rumenov was 9-1 against nationally-ranked players.  Rumenov and partner Daniel Regan are the top-ranked doubles team in the nation, going 18-1 at #1 doubles this season.  Rumenov is the fifth straight Armstrong player to win the Player of the Year award and joins Eudaldo Bonet as a two-time winner.  He becomes the first back-to-back Player of the Year since North Florida's David Olave in 2002 and 03.

Yannick Hass has made an immediate impact on the Georgia College team and is a key part of their #17 national ranking and #4 seed in the PBC Tournament.  A true freshman from Troisdorf, Germany, he went 14-5 in singles play.  He began the year at #5 singles, but steadily moved up and has played the last six matches at #3 singles.  He also played twice at #2.  Hass and doubles partner Wictor Andersson were 8-4 overall, 7-4 at #2 doubles.  Hass becomes the second Bobcat to ever be named the PBC Freshman of the Year, joining Rodrigo Yamauti who won in 2004.

Simon Earnshaw captures his sixth PBC Coach of the Year honor and fourth in a row.  In his 14th season at Armstrong, Earnshaw has his team ranked #1 in the nation after winning their third NCAA National Championship last spring.  The Pirates also captured their eighth PBC regular-season title and are the top seed in this week's PBC Tournament, where they are the eight-time defending champion.

The 2013 men's tennis All-Conference team is listed below as selected by the league's head coaches.  Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players.

2013 Peach Belt Conference
Men's Tennis All-Conference Team

First Team Doubles
Sven Lalic & Pedro Scocuglia, Armstrong
Adam Jonsson & August Iwdal, Lander
Daniel Regan & Georgi Rumenov, Armstrong

Second Team Doubles
Alex Caspari & Gavin Davison, Francis Marion
Victor Cabellos & Victor Guimaraes, Augusta State
Felipe Friedrich & Matheus Guida, North Georgia

First Team Singles
Paul-Henri Arrigoni, Lander
Alex Caspari, Francis Marion
Felipe Friedrich, North Georgia
Matus Mydla, Armstrong
Daniel Regan, Armstrong
Georgi Rumenov, Armstrong

Second Team Singles
Andreas Ainalides, Georgia College
Gordan Divljak, Columbus State
Matheus Guida, North Georgia
Sven Lalic, Armstrong
Pedro Scocuglia, Armstrong
Vincent Verpeaux, Lander
Johan Wadstein, Georgia College

Player of the Year

Georgi Rumenov, Armstrong

Freshman of the Year
Yannick Hass, Georgia College

Coach of the Year

Simon Earnshaw, Armstrong

Peach Belt men's tennis 1st Team All-Conference
Peach Belt men's tennis 2nd team All-Conference
(L to R): PBC Coach of the Year Simon Earnshaw of Armstrong; PBC Freshman of the Year Yannick Hass of Georgia College and PBC Player of the Year Georgi Rumenov of Armstrong.