Peach Belt Announces Men’s Tennis All-Conference Team

Peach Belt Announces Men’s Tennis All-Conference Team

MORROW, GA – The Peach Belt Conference announced the 2010 men’s tennis All-Conference team from Morrow, Ga., the site of the 2010 tournament.  Armstrong Atlantic State becomes the first men’s tennis program to ever sweep all three major individual awards as Mikk Irdoja was named the Player of the Year, Matus Mydla the Freshman of the Year and Simon Earnshaw the Coach of the Year.  The PBC has issued all three awards each season since the Freshman of the Year was added in 1997.

Mikk Irdoja is the 6th-ranked player in all of Division II after going 20-2 in singles for the top-ranked Pirates.  A two-time PBC player of the week, he did not drop a set to a PBC opponent during the season and has beaten eight of the top 40 ranked singles players in the nation including top-ranked Dilshod Sharifi of Francis Marion and second-ranked Daniel Dueren of Valdosta State.  A junior from Talinn, Estonia, Irdoja becomes the second consecutive and fifth overall AASU player to be named the PBC Player of the Year, joining teammate Eudaldo Bonet, who received the honor in 2009.

Matus Mydla becomes the fourth straight Pirate to be named the PBC Freshman of the Year after going 24-1 in singles play, 16-1 at the #4 spot.  The freshman from Trencin, Slovakia, is ranked #37 in the nation and has wins over two players in the top 35.  Mydla also played at #2 and #3 singles for AASU.

Simon Earnshaw wins his third PBC men’s tennis Coach of the Year title in the last four years.  He was also named this year’s PBC women’s Coach of the Year, the third time he has taken both awards in the same season.  The Pirates are the #1-ranked team in the nation with 24-1 overall record, 20 of those wins coming against ranked teams.  The two-time defending Division II national champions, Earnshaw led the Pirates to their third PBC regular-season title in the last four years and are the #1 seed for the PBC Tournament, which they have won for five straight years.

The 2010 all-conference team is listed below as selected by the league’s head coaches.  Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players.

2010 Peach Belt Conference
Men’s Tennis All-Conference Team
Singles Players

First Team
Rafael Array, Armstrong Atlantic State
Paul Henri Arrigoni, Lander
Eudaldo Bonet, Armstrong Atlantic State
David Cotrone, Flagler
Mikk Irdoja, Armstrong Atlantic State
Dilshod Sharifi, Francis Marion
Second Team
Bernando Fernandes, Augusta State
Jerome Leborgne, GCSU
Matus Mydla, Armstrong Atlantic State
Juan Xavier Ponce, USC Aiken
Frank Suarez, Columbus State
Oshada Wijemanne, Francis Marion
Doubles Teams
First Team
Rafael Array & Mikk Irdoja, Armstrong Atlantic State
Juan Xavier Ponce & Gregory Andrade, USC Aiken
David Cotrone & Gino Ramirez, Flagler

Second Team
Dilshod Sharifi & Oshada Wijemanne, Francis Marion
Henrique Boturao & Bernando Fernandes, Augusta State
Matus Mydla & Daniel Regan, Armstrong Atlantic State
Player of the Year
Mikk Irdoja, Armstrong Atlantic State
Freshman of the Year
Matus Mydla, Armstrong Atlantic State
Coach of the Year
Simon Earnshaw, Armstrong Atlantic State