Peach Belt Announces Men’s Soccer All-Conference Team

Peach Belt Announces Men’s Soccer All-Conference Team

AUGUSTA, GA – The Peach Belt Conference announced the 2012 men's soccer All-Conference team at a banquet in Augusta, Ga., site of the league's annual tournament.  Montevallo's Brendan Ledgeway was named the PBC Player of the Year while Young Harris' Lewis Hilton received the Freshman of the Year honor.  Lander's Van Taylor was named the Coach of the Year.

Ledgeway becomes the first goalkeeper to ever be named the PBC Player of the Year in 22 years of men's soccer.  A senior from York, England, he leads the Peach Belt Conference with a 0.53 goals against average, having allowed only nine scores in 16 games and over 1,500 minutes played.  He also leads the PBC with an .855 save percentage and in shutouts with eight this year.  A three-time PBC Goalkeeper of the Week, Ledgeway is currently tied for second on the all-time PBC list with 28 career shutouts and his .053 GAA would be, if maintained through the end of the year, the third-lowest season average in league history.   Not only is he the first goalkeeper to be named a Player of the Year, he is the first Falcon to ever be named either a player or freshman of the year in men's soccer.

Likewise, Young Harris' Lewis Hilton becomes the first student-athlete in any sport at the school to receive one of the league's major awards.  A freshman from Newquay, England, he was third on the team in goals scored, assists and points.  He was tied for sixth in the PBC with seven assists on the year and his 19 points is ninth-most in the league.  He played in and started all 19 games for the Mountain Lions in their first year as a member of the Peach Belt, scoring goals in each of his first two collegiate games.  Harris was named a PBC Player of the Week after scoring goals at Clayton State and Montevallo in the final two games of the regular season that propelled YHC to a #4 seed and a home game for the PBC Tournament.

Van Taylor adds to his legendary resume with his third PBC Coach of the Year honor.   In his 27th season leading the Bearcats, Taylor took a team picked to finish fourth it the preseason coaches poll to the league championship.  Lander finished the year 7-1-2 in league play for their seventh regular-season title and the top seed in the PBC Tournament.  Ranked as high as #6 in the nation during the year, Lander was also ranked #1 in the NCAA Southeast Region poll and are poised to return to the NCAA Tournament for the first time in three seasons.  Taylor currently has the longest tenure of any PBC coach in any sport in the conference and received the very first PBC Coach of the Year honor in 1991.

The 2012 men's soccer All-Conference team is listed below as selected by the league's head coaches.  Coaches were not permitted to rank their own players.

Peach Belt Conference
2012 Men's Soccer All-Conference Team

First Team

Ado Junuzovic, Clayton State
Niall McCabe, Young Harris
Pierre Omanga, Montevallo

Justavo Cuhna, North Georgia
Chris Hobbs, Lander
Shane Howard, Montevallo
Joseph Toby, Flagler

Kevin Keenan, Flagler
Gary O'Neill, Montevallo
Clement Simonin, Lander

Brendan Ledgeway, Montevallo

Second Team

Clement Dauchy, Lander
Ilija Ilic, Young Harris
Sam Miles, UNC Pembroke

Kevin Durand, Lander    
Mark Hanlon, USC Aiken
Lewis Hilton, Young Harris
Sean Hoek, UNC Pembroke

Lewis Blissett, Lander
James Casserly, UNC Pembroke
Mike Rinzema, Montevallo
Brett Van Pelt, USC Aiken

Kristopher Alonzo, North Georgia

Player of the Year
Brendan Ledgeway, Montevallo

Freshman of the Year
Lewis Hilton, Young Harris

Coach of the Year
Van Taylor, Lander

PBC Men's Soccer Second-Team All-Conference
First-Team All-Conference
(L to R): PBC Freshman of the Year Lewis Hilton, Player of the Year Brendan Ledgeway and Coach of the Year Van Taylor.