Peach Belt Reveals Men’s Golf All-Conference Team

Peach Belt Reveals Men’s Golf All-Conference Team

PINE MOUNTAIN, GA – The Peach Belt Conference revealed the 2014 men's golf All-Conference team at a banquet in Callaway Gardens, site of the 2014 league championships which begin on Friday.  Clayton State's Fredrik Lindblom was named the PBC Player of the Year while Lander's Jordan Ainley the PBC Freshman of the Year.  Flagler's Santiago Cavanagh was voted the Coach of the Year.

Lindblom had a tremendous season for Clayton State, winning the Armstrong Pirate Invitational and the Bearcat Invitational.  He was second at the Bobcat Intercollegiate; one of his four top-five finishes on the year.  He had six top-10s in his nine tournaments and was one of three PBC golfers to win two tournaments on the season.  A senior from Varmdo, Sweden, Lindblom is third in the PBC with a 72.22 stroke average, played 10 of his 23 rounds at par or better and twice posted a round of five-under 67, tied for the league lead in low round relative to par.  Lindblom becomes the second Clayton State golfer to be named the Player of the Year, joining current PGA tour player Will Wilcox, who won it in 2009.

Jordan Ainley has made an immediate impact on the Lander men's golf team, playing in all nine events and 24 rounds in his first collegiate season.  A native of Hampshire, England, Ainley was third on the team with a 74.79 stroke average.  He finished in third place at the one-round UNG Nighthawk Shootout but had his best outing at the McDonough Cup where he fired 74-71-71 to finish at even par and in a tie for 14th.  Ainley becomes the third Lander men's golfer to be named the Freshman of the Year, the first since Max Fischer in 2011. 

Santiago Cavanagh has established the Flagler program as one of the heavyweights in NCAA Division II.  In 2014, the Saints have been nationally ranked since September and currently sit #15 in the country.  Flagler won the Jay Jennison Memorial tournament in the fall, finished second at the Spring Kickoff Intercolleagiate and third at the Kiawah Island Invitational.  As a team, Flagler is second in the PBC in scoring average.    Cavanagh wins his second PBC Coach of the Year honor, the first coming in 2010.

Below is the men's golf All-Conference team as selected by the league's head coaches.  Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players. The size of the team was expanded to 17 due to a tie in second-team voting.

2014 PBC Men's Golf All-Conference Team

First Team
Bryan Fox, Georgia College
Fredrik Lindblom, Clayton State
Robert Mize, Columbus State
Robert Prior, Lander
Brandon Robinson-Thompson, USC Aiken
Spencer Schindler, Flagler
Shad Tuten, Armstrong
Travis Williamson, Armstrong

Second Team
Sebastian Barnoya, Flagler
Kyle Godsman, USC Aiken
Cory Griffin, Armstrong
Hayden Letien, USC Aiken
Bryan Lichimo, Columbus State
Victor Monte, Georgia College
Anders Olsson, Georgia Southwestern
Jack Stumpfig, Columbus State
Ryan Trocchio, Georgia College

Player of the Year
Fredrik Lindblom, Clayton State

Freshman of the Year
Jordan Ainley, Lander

Coach of the Year
Santiago Cavanagh, Flagler